Where is North Cumbria?

North Cumbria refers to the west, east and north areas of Cumbria.

In 2017 Commissioning Groups confirmed they were given approval by NHS England to change the NHS’s organisational boundaries in the county with North Cumbria covering the areas of Allerdale, Copeland, Carlisle and Eden. The South Lakes in Furness area are now covered by NHS services in Morecambe Bay.

PLEASE NOTE: These NHS boundaries are not related to the county’s current council boundaries. Information about this can be found on the Westmorland and Furness Council website here. Or the Cumberland Council website here.

The diagram to the left illustrates in green the area represented by ‘North Cumbria’.

Part of the regional Integrated Care System...

We are also part of the North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care System (ICS). This is a partnership of organisations including local councils, voluntary and community services that provide health and care across our region.

It’s led by the NHS Integrated Care Board (ICB) who are working collectively, joining up resources and expertise to provide the best health and care for our local communities.

You can find out more about the ICB at: northeastnorthcumbria.nhs.uk 

Find your career with Primary Care Services in North Cumbria 

North Cumbria offers a variety of advantages for people to consider living and working in Primary Care here including:

- A mix of vibrant urban and beautiful rural locations

- The world famous Lake District right on your doorstep

- Development opportunities

- Training Practices

- Fellowships

- & resulting in a much improved work-life balance

For more information on our innovative approaches and flexibility to discover your ambitions please visit our careers area. This includes current vacancies and many of the opportunities available. There is also a page which focuses on further information about the North Cumbria area.