‘North Cumbria’ takes in the areas of West, East and North Cumbria and has a mix of rural and urban locations.

With the world-famous Lake District on your doorstep, plenty of vibrant communities and opportunities it is a location that offers an excellent mix for your work/life balance.
North Cumbria is also well placed to visit larger cities as well as being near the border to Scotland.

It also offers more affordable house prices than many of the southern areas of the UK so you will potentially benefit by seeing a lot more value for your money in your location investment. There is also a lower crime rate.

Below compiles a selection of links and contacts which might be useful if you are considering moving to our unique, well connected and picturesque area.

For more information on our exciting training programmes available visit our Training Hub here.

The full area of Cumbria is now split between the two councils below.

- Westmorland and Furness Council
- Cumberland Council

These sites will also provide you with further information on council tax, parks, culture and leisure, schools, transport and more.

A summary list of schools and other educational establishments compiled in February 2023 with contact information is available here.

A list of Estate Agents in Cumbria is available here

(other Estate Agents may be available beyond this list as well).

- Visit Lake District | The Official Guide to Cumbria
Will provide you with more information on the location of the Lake District and some of the great experiences and highlights available. Their map below also shows how well connected you would be in Cumbria due to it’s geographical location.

- Cumbria Tourism | The Official Tourist Board for Cumbria
The official destination management organisation for the Lake District.

 - Home : Lake District National Park
England's largest National Park is now a World Heritage Site, home to Scafell Pike - its highest mountain, Wastwater - its deepest lake and thriving communities like Keswick and Bowness-on-Windermere.

North Cumbria refers to the west, east and north areas of Cumbria.

In 2017 Commissioning Groups confirmed they were given approval by NHS England to change the NHS’s organisational boundaries in the county with North Cumbria covering the areas of Allerdale, Copeland, Carlisle and Eden. The South Lakes in Furness area are now covered by NHS services in Morecambe Bay.

PLEASE NOTE: These NHS boundaries are not related to the county’s current council boundaries. Information about this can be found on the Westmorland and Furness Council website here. Or the Cumberland Council website here.

The diagram below illustrates in green the area represented by ‘North Cumbria’.
For more information on the Cumbria's 'Place' within NHS Systems view our page here.